top of page
  • David Bender

Container/ workshop

My Shipping container / workshop has a plywood floor, this has simplified the frame building. The floor is relatively level and flat ,by nailing a piece of hard board larger than the biggest frame to the floor produced a good surface to work off. A sheet of builders plastic over the hardboard is a good glue release. A center line and water line can be set up on the plastic with masking tape with actual lines drawn on the masking tape [see picture]. I lay out the frame pieces on the floor and I used 2.5”bullet head nails to hold the frame pieces in position, around the outside of the frame is usually enough , inside the frame if need be, to fix the pieces firmly. Then measurements and angles can taken. I got into the habit of putting g masking tape around the prices to reduce glue spreading. I also put a nail in each gusset for holding when gluing. For small batches of glue I bought some disposable food containers with lids I get 3 uses sometimes I also use a plastic spatula to mix and apply glue, when adding microfiber the container lid very useful. The container can just be shaken without wastage. The spatula is goof for spreading glue and when the glue has hardened the spatula is easily cleaned. I have a dozen house bricks and when the glue is applied the bricks can be carefully placed on the frame to the point of the glue oozing out. The next day I use a rasp to clean up any unwanted glue.






19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page